Leading Little Ones

sheep

Photo by Waiting For The Word

Leading Little Ones. It’s the title of my blog, but it’s so much more than that.

It’s what I desire to do with my life.

It’s what I’ve been called to do as a parent and as a mother.

My pastor spoke recently about shepherding the flock where you are placed. He’s been speaking in 1 Peter and his last sermon was on chapter 5 verses 1-4. I decided I want to frame this passage in my home. It not only speaks to elders of the churches…it speaks to everyone in one way or another. It’s personal and practical. Take a look:

5 To the elders among you, I appeal as a fellow elder and a witness of Christ’s sufferings who also will share in the glory to be revealed: 2 Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them—not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve; 3 not lording it overthose entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock. 4 And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away.

Peter is addressing leaders. Aren’t we all leaders in some way? He also recognizes himself as a leader and that he is responsible to shepherd his flock too.

He says to shepherd the flock that God has given you. Lead them. Care for them.

Peter knows this responsibility well. Remember this passage from John 21?

15 After breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?”

“Yes, Master, you know I love you.”

Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

16 He then asked a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?”

“Yes, Master, you know I love you.”

Jesus said, “Shepherd my sheep.”

17-19 Then he said it a third time: “Simon, son of John, do you love me?”

Peter was upset that he asked for the third time, “Do you love me?” so he answered, “Master, you know everything there is to know. You’ve got to know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.”…

A command from the mouth of Christ. Yep, Peter knew this command well. It was written on his heart by the very one who created him.

To me, this passage simply screams ‘motherhood!’ As parents, we are responsible for leading our children. We are to shepherd them. But here’s the kicker: Look at verse 2 of 1 Peter 5.

—not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve;

He says, don’t do this because you have to. Do it because you are willing. Do not do it  for selfish reasons. Do it because you are eager to serve. How often am I eager to serve? Rarely. How many times am I in it for selfish gain or only thinking of myself? Often.

He goes on to say,

3 not lording it overthose entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock.

There’s no excuse for a power struggle here. Do not lord over your children, but rather, be an example to them. That hits me right between the eyes. It so pricks my heart. I am to lead my Children in God’s ways because He has given them to me. I am to lead them not because I want to, but because I am eager to serve Him and not to receive gain for myself. I am not to dominate my children, but I am instead called to be an example to them…an example of a godly woman, wife, and mother; an example of a gentle spirit; an example of Jesus.

What more is there? If I am simply focused on being a Christ-like example, won’t other worries, burdens, and fears just fade away?

And what are the benefits?

4 And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away.

Ahhh… A promise from the Promise Keeper. When our Shepherd, the Chief Shepherd comes again… we will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away. Will that be a physical crown? I don’t know. But I have an inkling it’s going to be much better than that. But it’s a promise just the same.

I have hope in the Lord…He is my Good Shepherd. He is my example. And by His example and mine, my children may just end up as His sheep.

Leave a Reply

