Whole Food Eating:Guacamole Recipe

I thought I’d share one of my favorite recipes with you! You can also check this recipe out on my photography blog here. Check out my homemade guacamole recipe:

 

     I love avocados. No, I really, really love avocados. They are so delicious and they are so good for you! Their texture is smooth and just plain delightful. Just cut it in half and spoon out the wonderfully, creamy goodness. (I told you I love avocados!) So what would be a better recipe to make with my beloved avocados than my favorite dip: Guacamole! Who doesn’t like good ol’ guac? I sure do.

     Now, it hasn’t always been that way. I never liked guacamole growing up. To me, it looked like something incredibly nasty…I’m sure we’ve all had our own opinions on what guacamole looks like… Anyway, I hated the thought of it even though I hadn’t really tasted it much. Then one day, I came across a recipe that changed my life forever. Homemade guac! Uh! It looked delicious. So, I decided to give it a try and it has been a family favorite ever since. It never turns out exactly the same every time, but that’s what I love about it most. Unpredictable Guacamole. It sounds dangerous, exciting, and so incredibly yummy.

Homemade Guacamole

Serves 4

Ingredients:

3 ripe avocados

1 bunch cilantro

1 lemon or lime

1 medium shallot, finely chopped

1-2 tsp finely chopped fresh garlic

1/3c-1/4c sour cream

sea salt & freshly ground pepper to taste

Method:

Slice the avocados lengthwise around the pit. Once you slice all the way around, it should twist apart easily.

 Remove the pit. Sometimes it comes right out and sometimes it needs a little encouragement. You can use your knife to pluck it out or you can just pull it out with your fingers.

 Once you remove the pit, you can remove the meat of the avocado. An easy way to do it is to score it into small cubes. You can also take a spoon and scoop it out whole.

 Once you have all the avocado scooped into the bowl, you can start preparing the other ingredients.

Cut the stems off of the cilantro. We dont usually use the whole bunch. We use half and then use the other half for something else. Make sure you wash it really well.

Once the cilantro is completely washed, chop it finely.

 Add in the chopped cilantro, lemon or lime juice, shallot, garlic and then the sour cream.

 Mash well.

 Don’t forget to mix in salt & pepper to your liking.

And there you have it. Fresh homemade guacamole. 🙂 Dig in!

 

 

Leave a Reply

