Desiring to Do Everything

After a long weekend at the in-laws’, my girls (and their parents!) were exhausted. But there is always plenty to do after returning from a trip. (Laundry and unpacking mostly.) Amazingly, with four people in our family, we were able to fit all of our clothes into one small (using the term loosely) bag not including some hanging things. However, it seems after our return, there are more things to wash from our trip than there were when I packed! Of course, all the clothes plus toys, books, and bedding from our extended (2 day) stay up north is now laying on the floor by the door…waiting to be cared for. However, it seems that today there are so many things I want to do, it is hard to say what actually will be accomplished.

Do you ever have those days where you want to accomplish everything and then end up accomplishing nothing? Lately I’ve thought of all the wonderful things I’d love to do. Like, start a garden, clean out our flower beds and do some landscaping, make and sell baby items (learning to sew and create!), write a book, read most of the books ever written, complete the remodeling of our house and then start more, stain the back porch, organize EVERYTHING, care for my children, make a lovely meal every night, and most importantly, grow immensely in my relationship with the Lord.

So why do I desire to do these things and then do nothing? Is it because the tasks seem too daunting? Is it because I get distracted with unimportant things or daily struggles that come with being a mommy to little ones? I personally think those things do play a role in my issue, but the main reason, I think, is because I am not focusing on God. I am not putting Him first in my life. Colossians 3:23 NIV says “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.” I love how the GOD’S WORD translation reads: “Whatever you do, do it wholeheartedly as though you were doing it for your real Master, and not merely for humans.” Verse 24b says “It is the Lord you are serving.”

God does care about what we do, but He cares about who we do it for even more. He is the only one who deserves our praise, work, honor and glory. So, it doesn’t matter if I play all day or weed the garden, if I do it for Him, it doesn’t go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

